
Southland Times Death Notices Today (2026) | Official
A name in the day’s death notices stops a family in its tracks. The Southland Times publishes those notices on a dedicated online portal, and the most recent entry we confirmed was Donald Rae, whose death notice appeared on April 21, 2026 (The Southland Times (official death notice)). Here’s how to find, read, and verify today’s notices without getting tripped up by stale or unofficial listings.
Latest obituary date: April 21, 2026 (Donald Rae) ·
Official obituary website: The Southland Times (official obituary portal) ·
Official obituary pages reviewed: 9 (2019–2026) ·
Free public access: Yes
Quick snapshot
- The official obituary portal is deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Public death notices are free to view (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Newest verified notice: Donald Rae, published April 21, 2026 (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- How often the portal refreshes with new notices is not stated on the site (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Whether every death reported to the newspaper appears online is not documented (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- The site labels a “Submit An Obituary” option, but the full family submission process isn’t detailed (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- April 21, 2026 — Donald Rae’s notice published (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- April 4, 2026 — Leah Gibbs’s notice published (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- March 9, 2026 — Jill Harwood’s notice published (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Check the official browse page for the newest date-stamped entries (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Use the name-based URL format to search for a specific person (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)).
- Families can use the “Submit An Obituary” pathway on the browse page (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Nine official notices, one pattern: the portal is the only place where the name, the age, and the publication date sit together on the same page.
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Official obituary website | deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)) |
| Newest obituary in this report | April 21, 2026 — Donald Rae (The Southland Times (official death notice)) |
| Oldest obituary in this report | 2019 — Colin Reece (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)) |
| Ages in the sample | 20 to 92 years, from notices that state an age (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)) |
| Free public access | Yes — no paywall on the obituary portal (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)) |
| Submission pathway | “Submit An Obituary” on the browse page (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)) |
| URL structure | Name-based URLs with numeric IDs, for example /name/colin-reece-obituary?id=40058376 (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)) |
| Geographic reach | Southland and nearby South Island centres; recent notices reference Invercargill (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)), Dunedin (The Southland Times (official death notice)), and Timaru (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)) |
What is the latest verified information about the southland times death notices today?
If you’re searching for someone who died in the past few days, the number that matters most is the publication date, not the date of death. The newest notice confirmed on the official platform was for Donald Rae, published April 21, 2026 (The Southland Times (official death notice)). Rae died on April 19 at Dunedin Hospital, aged 79 (The Southland Times (official death notice)). Earlier that month, on April 4, the portal carried a notice for Leah Gibbs, described in the published text as “Aged 43 years young” (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Recent obituaries: Donald Rae, Leah Gibbs, and Jill Harwood
- Donald Rae — published April 21, 2026, two days after his death on April 19 (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- Leah Gibbs — published April 4, 2026, with the line “Aged 43 years young” (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Jill Harwood — published March 9, 2026, after dying on March 5 at age 90 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Jack Stephens — published February 14, 2026, with a notice pairing the dates 1.9.2004 and 15.2.2025 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Sarah James — published February 12, 2026 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Phillip Aicken — notice ran August 7–9, 2025, after he died suddenly at home on August 5, 2025, aged 76 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Official platform: deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz
- The browse page lists recent obituaries in reverse chronological order (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Individual notices carry stable, name-based URLs with numeric IDs — a format that makes older notices shareable and searchable (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)).
- No subscription is required to read any of the notices reviewed for this report (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
A post date is not a death date. In the verified sample, the gap ran from two days (Donald Rae) to four days (Jill Harwood) — so a family searching “today” should widen the window by at least a week.
What should readers know first about the southland times death notices today?
Start with the official portal, then check the date. That two-step habit solves most of the confusion around “today’s” death notices, because third-party results mix old and new entries without a visible time stamp.
How to access the official death notice database
- Open the browse page at deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz; it requires no login or payment (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Scroll the reverse-chronological list for recent entries, or search by name to find a specific person (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Before trusting a link from a search engine, confirm the URL contains deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Understanding the information in each obituary
- A standard notice names the person, their age, the date and place of death, and surviving family (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- Some notices add a personal phrase; Leah Gibbs’s notice read “Aged 43 years young” (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Jack Stephens’s notice uses a compact date-range format, 1.9.2004 – 15.2.2025, to show both dates (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
The practical rule: read the date stamp first, then the names. If the notice is more than a week old, it is not one of “today’s” notices — but it can still answer a family’s question.
Which official sources confirm key claims about the southland times death notices today?
Not every page that looks like a death notice comes from the newspaper. The only source with direct control over Southland Times notices is the paper’s own obituary platform.
Deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz as primary source
- The portal is a subdomain of The Southland Times, the daily newspaper for the Southland region (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Each verified obituary page carries a publication date, the deceased’s name, and the notice text (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- The browse page includes a labeled “Submit An Obituary” pathway, the publisher’s formal entry point for new notices (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Third-party aggregators and their limitations
- Search results for “Southland Times death notices today” can include aggregator pages and social posts that reuse newspaper content without editorial control.
- The search results reviewed for this report contained an article on newsinsights.co.nz and a Facebook post alongside the official pages; neither is the newspaper’s record.
- When a date or a name matters, cross-check the official portal before treating an aggregator page as current.
An aggregator page can sit near the top of search results for months after the notice has stopped being news. For a Southland family, the cost of that lag is a day — or a week — spent looking at the wrong list.
The trade-off is straightforward: aggregators are convenient, but the official portal is the only place where the publication date is the newspaper’s own.
What is still unclear or unverified about the southland times death notices today?
The portal is easy to use, but quiet about some operational details. Three gaps are worth knowing before you rely on it for a sensitive search.
Real-time update frequency on the official site
- No page on the portal states how often new notices are added (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- The verified publication dates — February 12 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)), February 14 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)), March 9 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)), April 4 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)), and April 21 (The Southland Times (official death notice)) — do not follow a daily rhythm.
- Opening the browse page shows the actual newest date stamp, which beats assuming the site refreshes every morning (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Whether all recent deaths are published
- Not every death is submitted for publication; notices exist because a family or funeral director places them (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- In the verified sample, publication lagged death by two days (The Southland Times (official death notice)) to four days (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- A death can be confirmed elsewhere well before its notice appears on the portal.
What this means: an absent notice is not evidence that nothing has happened. It is an instruction to check again — usually within a day or two.
What are the most common user questions on the southland times death notices today?
People arrive at the Southland Times obituary section with one of two tasks: find one specific person, or see who has been announced in the past few days.
Searching by name or date
- The most common task is locating an obituary by name; the portal’s name search handles that directly (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- A web search for “[name] Southland Times obituary” works because individual pages use name-based URLs (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)).
- If only the date is known, the reverse-chronological browse list can be scanned to that point in time (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Viewing older obituaries
- Legacy-style URLs remain accessible; a Colin Reece notice from 2019 was still online with its original ID number (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)).
- The portal does not advertise an archive limit, so older notices can remain reachable by direct link even after they leave the first screen of the browse list.
For today’s notices, skip the search engine and open the browse page directly. For a named person, search the name plus “Southland Times obituary” and look for the deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz domain in the result.
The practical result: old notices stay findable, but the browse list is built for the recent ones — so use the search box when you know the name, and the date list when you are just checking in.
Timeline: recent Southland Times death notices
The verified dates below show how the publication record builds over time on the official portal.
- — Donald Rae’s notice is published, two days after his death (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- — Leah Gibbs’s notice appears with the line “Aged 43 years young” (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Jill Harwood’s notice is published, four days after her death on March 5 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Jack Stephens’s notice appears, pairing the dates 1.9.2004 and 15.2.2025 (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Bill Smith’s notice is published (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Ellen Chalmers’s notice is published (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Russell Stuart’s notice appears, nine days after his death (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Ellen Stuart’s notice is published (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- — Colin Reece’s notice remains accessible through the portal’s legacy URL structure (The Southland Times (legacy obituary archive)).
The pattern: publication dates in the verified sample trail death dates by days, not weeks, and the portal keeps older notices alive alongside new ones.
Confirmed vs. unclear: separating fact from open questions
Confirmed
- The official Southland Times obituary site is deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- Recent notices include name, age, date and place of death, and a family message (The Southland Times (official death notice)).
- The portal is free to access without a subscription (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
- A “Submit An Obituary” pathway exists on the browse page (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
What’s still open
- The portal does not state how often it refreshes with new notices.
- It is unclear whether every death reported to the newspaper appears online.
- The exact submission process for families is not described publicly.
The balance tilts toward confirmed facts, but every open question is about timing — and timing is exactly what a family searching “today” cares about most.
What the notices themselves say
Three phrases from the reviewed notices show how a formal record and a personal voice share the same lines.
Suddenly on Thursday, March 5, 2026 in the care of Southland Hospital, aged 90 years. Dearly loved wife of the late Don.
— Jill Harwood’s death notice, The Southland Times (official obituary portal)
Peacefully at Peacehaven, Invercargill, on Tuesday, July 29, 2025. Aged 92 years. Loved wife of the late Ken, much loved Mum and mother-in-law.
— Ellen Chalmers’s death notice, The Southland Times (official obituary portal)
Aged 43 years young.
— Leah Gibbs’s death notice, The Southland Times (official obituary portal)
The pattern across the three entries: a fixed set of facts — date, place, age — wrapped in one personal line.
What this means for families in Southland
Death notices from The Southland Times live in one authoritative place: deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz. The verified sample shows publication usually follows death by two to four days, and older notices stay online, but the portal does not claim to list every death. For a family searching by name, the practical rule is to use the official browse page, check the date stamp, and look again in a day or two if nothing appears. For anyone arranging a notice, the “Submit An Obituary” pathway is the formal route into the record. For Southland families, the choice is clear: trust the newspaper’s own portal first — or risk building a goodbye on an outdated list.
pacificbrief.nz, deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz, coastaljournal.nz, deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz, deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz, deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz, kiwipress.nz, nzheadline.nz, deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz
Frequently asked questions
How often are death notices updated on the Southland Times website?
The official portal does not publish a fixed schedule. The notices we verified appeared on February 12, February 14, March 9, April 4, and April 21 — an irregular rhythm — so the reliable move is to check the browse page for the newest date stamp.
Can I view Southland Times death notices without a subscription?
Yes. The obituary portal at deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz is publicly accessible, and none of the notices reviewed for this article sat behind a paywall (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
How do I search for a specific person’s obituary?
Use the name search on the official browse page, or search the person’s name plus “Southland Times obituary” and look for a result on deaths.southlandtimes.co.nz (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
Are death notices the same as obituaries?
This guide uses the two words for the same public notices on the official portal; the portal itself labels its browse section as obituaries (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)).
How can I submit a death notice to The Southland Times?
The official browse page includes a pathway labeled “Submit An Obituary” (The Southland Times (official obituary portal)). The portal does not detail the full process, so families should follow that pathway or contact the newspaper directly.
What should I do if I find an error in a death notice?
Contact The Southland Times directly with the person’s name and the notice’s publication date. Because the notice is a family’s public record, a correction matters as soon as the error is spotted.
The common thread: most questions come down to recency — and recency only has one reliable source, the date stamp on the official portal.